Sleeping Giants

  • Release Date:     ISBN: 10101575971010157596
  • Genre: Adventure     Publisher:
  • Print Length: pages     Language:
Score: 4.5 0 5
4.5
236 Ratings

Sleeping Giants Book Summary

A page-turning debut in the tradition of Michael Crichton, World War Z, and The Martian, Sleeping Giants is a thriller fueled by an earthshaking mystery—and a fight to control a gargantuan power.
 
A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand.
 
Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artifact remains unsolved—its origins, architects, and purpose unknown. Its carbon dating defies belief; military reports are redacted; theories are floated, then rejected.
 
But some can never stop searching for answers.
 
Rose Franklin is now a highly trained physicist leading a top secret team to crack the hand’s code. And along with her colleagues, she is being interviewed by a nameless interrogator whose power and purview are as enigmatic as the provenance of the relic. What’s clear is that Rose and her compatriots are on the edge of unraveling history’s most perplexing discovery—and figuring out what it portends for humanity. But once the pieces of the puzzle are in place, will the result prove to be an instrument of lasting peace or a weapon of mass destruction?
 
Praise for Sleeping Giants

“Reminiscent of The Martian and World War Z, Sleeping Giants is a luminous conspiracy yarn that shoots for (and lands among) the stars.”—Pierce Brown, New York Times bestselling author of Red Rising
 
“As high-concept as it is, Sleeping Giants is a thriller through and through. . . . Not only is Sleeping Giants one of the most promising series kickoffs in recent memory, it’s a smart demonstration of how science fiction can honor its traditions and reverse-engineer them at the same time.”—NPR
 
“Neuvel weaves a complex tapestry with ancient machinery buried in the Earth, shadow governments, and geopolitical conflicts. But the most surprising thing about the book may just be how compelling the central characters are in the midst of these larger-than-life concepts. . . . I can’t stop thinking about it.”Chicago Review of Books

“First-time novelist Sylvain Neuvel does a bold, splashy cannonball off the high dive with Sleeping Giants. It bursts at the seams with big ideas and the questions they spawn—How much human life is worth sacrificing in the pursuit of scientific progress? Can humanity be trusted with weapons of ultimate destruction? And the biggest: Are we alone? But all that really matters is that this book is a sheer blast from start to finish. I haven’t had this much fun reading in ages.”—Blake Crouch, author of Dark Matter and the bestselling Wayward Pines trilogy

“A remarkable debut . . . Reminiscent of Max Brooks’s World War Z, the story’s format effectively builds suspense.”Library Journal (debut of the month)
 
“This stellar debut novel . . . masterfully blends together elements of sci-fi, political thriller and apocalyptic fiction. . . . A page-turner of the highest order.”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“[A] fascinating first novel . . . This intriguing tale is entirely worthy of an adult audience.”Publishers Weekly

From the Hardcover edition.



Do you love Sleeping Giants book? Please share!

Sleeping Giants Book Comments


Make Money Writing

Sleeping Giants - Sylvain Neuvel Reviews

  • Great read

    By Mikelorm
    5
    Great story from start to finish. Highly recommend
  • Needs a comprehensive edit

    By Tinytubbs
    1
    Heavy handed repetitive awkward. Clichéd. Characters have no depth. Started skimming less than halfway thru and was able to keep the Plot line with no problems just to see what happened. Cool idea. Too bad.
  • Surprisingly engaging

    By brainpower
    4
    Just tried it on a whim and found it quite enjoyable. Definitely a page-turner, as they say. Different sort of storytelling device, which worked for me. It's a story told from narrow POVs but it's also about something very big. Check out a sample.
  • Just terrific!

    By Bubba Boy8
    5
    And fresh. Can't wait for the next one!
  • Excellent Book and Very Well Written

    By PonyBC
    5
    Loved the book. Written in a unique and inspired manner. I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys a good read
  • Can't put it down

    By TheSpecialk
    5
    Wonderful read. Just get it!
  • AMAZING

    By Handoverfist
    5
    Well....at first I didn't think I would like a story, that was only told, in report style. I'm pleased to state that I was wrong. I finished it in two days. Had a hard time putting it down. It was that good. Well done!
  • Great read!

    By Cris25op
    5
    Thoroughly enjoyed this book and the writing style. Can't wait to read the next one!
  • Get time to kill?

    By WillRide
    1
    If you have some time to kill you could do worse. Certainly no Wm Gibson.
  • A new star author's debut - Wow!

    By Destingator
    5
    This book got me to do something I haven't done for a long time - stay up most of the night finishing it. The plot is good, solid sci-fi, but not the reason for loving the book. That lies in the writing, the presentation format, and the character development, as well as the wry humor throughout. Bravo! Can't wait for the next one!

Sylvain Neuvel - Sleeping Giants E-Book

Sleeping Giants - Sylvain Neuvel E-Book coming soon..