Damaged - Pamela Callow - Pamela Callow

Damaged

Damaged - Pamela Callow Book Score: 4.5 0 5
4.5 star
884 Ratings

Damaged Book Summary

The thriller that launched lawyer Kate Lange into the hearts of a MILLION readers—and into the path of a serial killer...

"...every bit as exciting as books by many New York Times bestselling authors..."—Fresh Fiction

What would you do if you faced a serial killer?

Meet lawyer Kate Lange. She has one chance to prove herself—and to prove to herself that she can make it—in a firm where everyone wants her to fail. But landing this job is what Kate believes will lead to redemption in the tragic death of her sister years ago. Instead, Kate makes the biggest mistake of her career... and becomes the target of a serial killer.

"Heroine Kate Lange is a standout character..." —RT Book Reviews

Haunted by the death of her sister and wounded by her ex-fiancé's accusations, Kate Lange throws herself into her new career at a high-powered law firm.

When the grandmother of a lonely private school student seeks her counsel, Kate thinks it's just another custody case. But then the teen is brutally murdered. And it isn't only Kate who wonders if her legal advice led to the girl's death.

"...a taut, edge-of-the-seat thriller..."—#1 Internationally Bestselling Author Linwood Barclay

Put on notice by Randall Barrett, the firm's charismatic managing partner, Kate must fight for her career, for her reputation - and for redemption.

Unwilling to live with the damage she may have caused, Kate pursues the case on her own and unearths some chilling facts.

"...dark and dangerously suspenseful..."—Atlantic Books Today

Facts that lead straight to the heart of a legal conspiracy.

Facts that lead Kate directly into the surgically skilled hands of the Body Butcher.

"Part medical mystery, part bloody thriller, here is a debut that had me flipping pages until the wee hours of the morning."—#1 New York Times Bestselling Author James Rollins

A Levy “Need to Read Pick" with Top Ten Bestseller display. For fans of John Grisham, Robin Cook, Patricia Cornwell, James Patterson, and Tess Gerritsen:

"My favourite authors are James Patterson and John Grisham and this book easily fit amongst these great authors."—Reader

"Right up there with Robin Cook...great writer and subject matter."—Reader

"I'm a big 'King' fan so for me to read a book of a different flavor and keep me interested is great writing. I think Pamela has a great talent."—Reader

"This had the feel of John Grisham's 'The Client'."—Reader

"The plot reminded me of early Patricia Cornwell."—Reader

"This book was so well put together it reminded of Kathy Reichs and Linda Fairstein."—Reader

"Those who compare her to master thriller writers aren't exaggerating! This book is masterfully written and put together. The writing as well as the editing is superb."—Reader

"A great thriller. Rivals the best. One of my favorite authors." —Reader

If you are looking for a good night's sleep, don't start this book tonight. But if you are a reader who loves a fast-paced page turner with a strong female lead, an exceptional cast of characters, and an engrossing thrill ride that combines the fields of medicine, law, forensics, police procedurals, yet has a very human story at its heart, then download DAMAGED—and make yourself comfortable... "You won't put this book down until you get to the end."—Reader


PRAISE FOR DAMAGED:

“Pamela Callow’s debut thriller, DAMAGED, reminded me of the best of Robin Cook: lightning paced, innovative, topical… and most of all, frightening. Part medical mystery, part bloody thriller, here is a debut that had me flipping pages into the wee hours of the morning.”
—James Rollins, #1 NYT bestselling author

"DAMAGED is a taut, edge-of-the-seat thriller with strong characters and a driving plot. Pamela Callow is Halifax's answer to both John Grisham and Tess Gerritsen."
—Linwood Barclay, internationally bestselling author 

"Taut, tense, and relentlessly chilling… this fast- paced thriller is the definition of page-turner: you can't wait to find out what happens -- but you're not sure you want to know."
Hank Phillippi Ryan, Agatha-winning author

"A compelling page-turner... Pamela Callow is a rising star."
—Rick Mofina, bestselling author of SIX SECONDS

"Extremely well plotted, Callow's debut novel is a hybrid of a police procedural and medical thriller. Heroine Kate Lange is a standout character, and readers will certainly look forward to reading her further adventures." 
—RT Book Reviews

"Pamela Callow's debut thriller, DAMAGED, is every bit as exciting as books by many New York Times bestselling authors... This tightly wound thriller springs through an intricately woven plot to keep the reader anticipating and squirming to the last pages."
—Fresh Fiction

"Saying it's action-packed is a bit of an understatement. It's the kind of book you buy on Friday and stay up all night reading." 
—The Chronicle Herald

"...this debut novel by a member of the Nova Scotia bar is one utterly complete, complex and convincing book that has one hooked from the first line...while this is a thriller, well-written and with a great plot, it is one that defies categorising. While the mystery may be medical with sophisticated and high technology required to improve lives, it’s dark and dangerously suspenseful..."
— Atlantic Books Today 


From the Author

Have you ever read about a crime and wondered what YOU would do in that situation?

If you enjoy reading thrillers, I'd bet that you have. Just as I have. In fact, Kate Lange's character was inspired by the question of "what would I do if I faced a serial killer?". I decided to create a lead character with no special investigative skills who had to rely on her intelligence, her need to do the right thing and find the truth no matter the cost, and her will to survive. So I created Kate—my alter ego—a lawyer who is just starting out on her career, who owns a house that needs work, a rescue dog that leaves a paper trail, and has a very messy love life. She is an ordinary person who faces an extraordinary situation. I also wanted to share my own experiences working in a blue-chip corporate firm, and reveal the ambitions, the agendas, and the ethical dilemmas. But the heart of the story is the quest for redemption—for many of DAMAGED's characters—and the search for happiness—and survival. I hope you enjoy reading DAMAGED as much as I enjoyed writing it.

Best wishes,

Pam Callow, JD, MPA



Do you love Damaged book? Please share!

Damaged Book Comments


Make Money Writing

Pamela Callow - Damaged E-Book

Damaged - Pamela Callow E-Book coming soon..