Lauren Oliver Popular Books

Lauren Oliver Biography & Facts

Lauren Oliver (born Laura Suzanne Schechter; November 8, 1982) is an American author of numerous young adult novels including Panic; the Delirium trilogy: Delirium, Pandemonium, and Requiem; and Before I Fall, which became a major motion picture in 2017. Panic was also turned into a series by Amazon studios. She served as creator, writer and showrunner on the project. Her novels have been translated into more than thirty languages internationally. Oliver is a 2012 E.B. White Read-Aloud Award nominee for her middle-grade novel Liesl & Po, as well as author of the middle-grade fantasy novel The Spindlers. Oliver graduated from the University of Chicago, where she was elected to Phi Beta Kappa, and also received a Master of Fine Arts degree from New York University. In 2010, Oliver co-founded Paper Lantern Lit, a literary “incubator”/ development company now called Glasstown Entertainment with Razorbill editor and poet Lexa Hillyer. Early life Oliver was born in Queens. She was both an avid reader and writer: "I come from a family of writers, and so have always (mistakenly) believed that spending hours in front of the computer every day, mulling over the difference between 'chortling: and 'chuckling' is normal. As a child, after finishing a book, I would continue to write a sequel for its characters, because I did not want to have to give them up."As she continued in her writing, Oliver eventually made the switch to writing her own stories and characters, with some success. However, writing was not Oliver's only passion; she also enjoyed taking ballet, drawing, painting, making collages, singing, acting, experimenting with cooking, and (as she put it), "(trying) to spend my time being as creative and useless as possible." After finishing high school and moving on to the University of Chicago, Oliver revealed, "I continued to be as impractical as possible by majoring in philosophy and literature... inadvertently aided and abetted in my mission by my older sister, Lizzie, who pursued a Ph.D. in philosophy and cognitive science. This eventually led our parents to resign themselves to the fact that their children would never be lawyers, doctors, or even gainfully employed." Career and novels Oliver's first book, Before I Fall, was published on March 2, 2010, by HarperCollins in the United States, and by Hodder & Stoughton in the United Kingdom. The book follows Sam, a teenage girl, who has to go through the last day of her life seven times and each time learns new values and the mysteries surrounding her death. Oliver has said that she wrote all of the book on her BlackBerry while she went to meetings on the subway. She would e-mail herself the chapters to later work on them some more.Open Road Films released the film version in theatres on March 3, 2017, with Zoey Deutch portraying the main character, Samantha Kingston.Oliver's second book, Delirium, is the first in her dystopian trilogy. Oliver's first novella, Hana, was released after Delirium and shows Hana's perspective on the events of Delirium. The trilogy's second book, Pandemonium, was released on February 28, 2012. Another novella, Annabel, was released on December 26, 2012 as an e-book and has events before those unfolding in Delirium such as details the story of Lena's mother prior to the events. The third and final book of the trilogy, Requiem, was published on March 5, 2013. A third novella, Raven, was published along with the third book, Requiem, on March 5, 2013 as an e-book and follows Raven on her life and adventures between the events of Pandemonium and Requiem. On March 5, 2013, all three of the novellas (Hana, Annabel, and Raven) were released together in a softcover book. Oliver's first middle-grade book, about a girl who is visited by a ghost who says her dead father is stuck in Limbo and that only she can help him over, was published on September 1, 2011. Her second middle-grade book, The Spindlers, tells the story of a young girl, Liza, who travels into a fantastical underworld to rescue her younger brother from the sinister creatures. The book was released on August 2, 2012. Oliver's next book, a young adult contemporary novel Panic, was released March 4, 2014. It tells the stories of Heather and Dodge, who are recently-graduated high school students in the impoverished small town of Carp. The action revolves around the mysterious and dangerous game, "Panic," which takes place every summer after graduation and involves a series of adrenaline pumping challenges that become progressively more life-threatening to weed out the weak and find out who is the most fearless of all. The winner receives a large sum of money (the year that Heather and Dodge play, the prize is $67,000), which is a chance to escape the poverty in which they all live. Panic was adapted into a television series released by Amazon Prime Video; Oliver served as showrunner for the adaptation.That novel was followed by her first adult novel, Rooms, on September 23, 2014, and another teen novel, Vanishing Girls, on March 10, 2015. Vanishing Girls tells the story of two sisters, Dara and Nick, who deal with the aftermath of a disastrous car accident that has put a strain on their once-inseparable relationship. The book alternates between the perspectives of Dara and Nick until Dara disappears unexpectedly around the same time that a local 9-year old vanishes. Convinced that the two disappearances are connected, Nick decides that she must find out what happened to her sister before it is too late. The book is a psychological thriller that uses regular prose as well as multimedia elements to unfold the mystery. Oliver's third book for younger readers and the first of a new series was released on September 29, 2015. Curiosity House: The Shrunken Head is a novel written in collaboration with H.C. Chester. Oliver's next young adult book, Replica, follows the story of two girls, Gemma and Lyra and asks the reader to read the same story but from two different perspectives. Oliver's fourth and fifth books for younger readers were Curiosity House: The Screaming Statue and Curiosity House: The Fearsome Firebird, the second and the third of the Curiosity House series. In 2019, she became the president of Glasstown West, the company's film and TV division, and she simultaneously began work on Hookline, an aggregate platform of social AR iconography. With Lexa Hillyer, she has authored and developed more than one hundred original books and TV/film scripts. Personal life Oliver was born in Queens and raised in Westchester, New York, a small town very similar to the one depicted in Before I Fall. She is the daughter of the true crime writer Harold Schechter. Her parents are both literature professors, and from a very young age, she was encouraged to make up stories, draw, paint, dance around in costumes, and spend much of her time essentially living imaginatively. Her love of writing began with writing imaginative sequels to her favorite .... Discover the Lauren Oliver popular books. Find the top 100 most popular Lauren Oliver books.

Best Seller Lauren Oliver Books of 2023

  • Lovely, Dark and Deep synopsis, comments

    Lovely, Dark and Deep

    Amy McNamara

    The “quiet emergence from despair rings true” (Kirkus Reviews) in this resonant debut novel about retreating from the world after losing everything.Wren Wells is hiding out. Though...

  • The Offering synopsis, comments

    The Offering

    Kimberly Derting

    True loveand world waris at stake in the conclusion to The Pledge trilogy, a dark and romantic blend of dystopia and fantasy.Charlie, otherwise known as Queen Charlaina of Ludania,...

  • I See You So Close synopsis, comments

    I See You So Close

    M Dressler

    The dead and their secrets refuse to stay buried in this thrilling sequel to M. Dressler’s awardwinning The Last to See Me, for fans of Lauren Oliver and Kazuo Ishiguro  ...

  • The Complication synopsis, comments

    The Complication

    Suzanne Young

    How do you go back to a life you can’t remember? Find out in this final installment in the New York Times bestselling Program series from Suzanne Young.Every cure has a cost.Tatum ...

  • The Lauren Oliver Collection synopsis, comments

    The Lauren Oliver Collection

    Lauren Oliver

    From Lauren Oliver, New York Times bestselling author of the Delirium trilogy, comes a collection of three outstanding standalone teen novels.Before I Fall: With this stunning debu...

  • The Epidemic synopsis, comments

    The Epidemic

    Suzanne Young

    Can one girl help others find closure by slipping into the identities of their loved ones? Find out in this riveting sequel to The Remedy and companion to the New York Times bestse...

  • The Bakersville Dozen synopsis, comments

    The Bakersville Dozen

    Kristina McBride

    YOU HAVE FOUR DAYS TO LOCATE FIVE TREASURED TROPHIES. BREAK THE RULES AND YOU ALL DIE. HAPPY HUNTING!Back in September, the town of Bakersville, Ohio made national news when a vide...

  • Life Inside My Mind synopsis, comments

    Life Inside My Mind

    Jessica Burkhart

    “Who better to raise teens’ awareness of mental illness and health than the YA authors they admire?” Booklist (starred review)“[A] muchneeded, enlightening book.” School Library Jo...

  • The Last to See Me synopsis, comments

    The Last to See Me

    M Dressler

    Book Pipeline 2017 Grand Prize Winner Winner of the Audiofile Magazine 2018 Earphones Award for FictionFor fans of Lauren Oliver and Kazuo Ishiguro, The Last to See Me is a spellbi...

  • The Remedy synopsis, comments

    The Remedy

    Suzanne Young

    Can one girl take on so many identities without losing her own? Find out in this riveting companion to The Program and the New York Times bestselling The Treatment.In a world befor...

  • The Adjustment synopsis, comments

    The Adjustment

    Suzanne Young

    How do you go back to a life you can’t remember? Find out in this fifth book in the New York Times bestselling Program series.Tatum Masterson never went through The Program. She ne...

  • The Treatment synopsis, comments

    The Treatment

    Suzanne Young

    Can Sloane and James survive the lies and secrets surrounding them, or will The Program claim them in the end? Find out in this sequel to The Program, which Publishers Weekly calle...

  • The Program synopsis, comments

    The Program

    Suzanne Young

    In this “gripping tale for lovers of dystopian romance” (Kirkus Reviews), true feelings are forbidden, teen suicide is an epidemic, and the only solution is The Program.Sloane know...

  • Maybe in Paris synopsis, comments

    Maybe in Paris

    Rebecca Christiansen

    Keira Braidwood lands in Paris with her autistic brother, Levi, and high hopes. Levi has just survived a suicide attempt and months in the psych wardhe’s ready for a dose of the wi...

  • Of Dreams and Rust synopsis, comments

    Of Dreams and Rust

    Sarah Fine

    “Desperate, dark, and violent, this amazingly complex and beautifully written novel…offers excitement on every page” (VOYA).War erupts in this bittersweet sequel to Of Metal and Wi...