Who is Richard Osman?

Richard Osman Popular Books

Richard Osman Biography & Facts

Richard Thomas Osman (born 28 November 1970) is an English comedian, producer, television presenter, writer, and the creator and co-presenter of the BBC One television quiz show Pointless. He has also presented the BBC Two quiz shows Two Tribes and Richard Osman's House of Games and has been a team captain on the comedy panel shows Insert Name Here and The Fake News Show. He has gained recognition for his appearances on many British panel shows. Osman worked at Hat Trick Productions alongside Ben Smith before becoming creative director of the television production company Endemol UK, producing shows including Prize Island for ITV and Deal or No Deal for Channel 4. He is the writer of the 2020 novel The Thursday Murder Club. Early life Osman was born in Billericay, Essex, to Brenda Wright and David Osman and grew up in Cuckfield near Haywards Heath, West Sussex. His mother is a teacher. When Osman was nine years old, his father walked out on the family, which Osman says has created difficulty for the rest of his life. His elder brother is musician Mat Osman, bass guitarist with the rock band Suede.Osman attended Warden Park School in Cuckfield. Whilst still at school he gained his first broadcasting experience, as a regular contributor to Turn It Up, an open-access music show which went out on Sunday evenings on BBC Radio Sussex (the show was also notable for giving early broadcast experience to BBC news journalist Jane Hill and radio DJ Jo Whiley). From 1989 to 1992, he studied Politics and Sociology at Trinity College, Cambridge, where he was a contemporary of Pointless co-presenter Alexander Armstrong, who read English. Television career Production Osman began his career working as executive producer on British game shows, including Deal or No Deal, Channel 4 comedy panel game 8 Out of 10 Cats and satirical comedy 10 O'Clock Live. He was the creative director at TV company Endemol UK, pitching the idea for Pointless to the BBC, becoming its co-presenter with his former university friend, Alexander Armstrong, when it launched in 2009. He created the short-lived 2013 ITV gameshow Prize Island. His other credits include Whose Line is it Anyway?, Total Wipeout and the game show 24 Hour Quiz. As a producer of Deal or No Deal, Osman was the one who revealed the identity of The Banker to be the show's producer Glenn Hugill. Osman acted as script editor for BBC One's Total Wipeout and in 1999, created and wrote the Channel 4 sitcom Boyz Unlimited with David Walliams and Matt Lucas. In 2005, he co-created and co-wrote the animated Channel 4 sitcom Bromwell High.Osman left Endemol in 2020. Presenting and Pointless Since 2009, Osman has co-presented the BBC One teatime quiz show Pointless with host Alexander Armstrong. He created the show where he is jokingly known as Armstrong's "pointless friend". Having previously worked exclusively in behind-the-camera roles, Osman got the job as co-presenter/assistant when he pitched the idea for the show to a panel of BBC daytime heads, taking the role of the assistant in the demonstration.Osman guest hosted Have I Got News for You in October 2013. In 2014, Osman began presenting a new BBC Two quiz show called Two Tribes. A second series began airing in February 2015. From October 2014, he guest-presented numerous episodes of The One Show. Beginning in 2016, he was a team captain on the BBC Two comedy panel show Insert Name Here, hosted by Sue Perkins. A second series was commissioned to begin airing in January 2017. In February and December 2016, he presented Dragons' Den: Pitches to Riches, two special episodes which looked back over the past thirteen series of Dragons' Den on BBC Two. Since 2016, Osman has presented Child Genius on Channel 4. He appeared on the telethon Red Nose Day 2017 with The World Cup of Biscuits 2017. This involved polling with Twitter to find the best British biscuit. In April 2017 he appeared in the first episode of the third series of Murder in Successville. In 2017, Osman began hosting his show Richard Osman's House of Games. Each weekday, four panellists compete in general knowledge tests in a variety of entertaining games. Four series of the show have been made. In 2020, Osman created a spinoff show titled House of Games Night, which aired on BBC One on Friday nights. Comedy Osman has appeared multiple times on several panel shows; Would I Lie to You?, Have I Got News for You, I'm Sorry I Haven't a Clue, The Unbelievable Truth, QI, and 8 Out of 10 Cats Does Countdown. In 2016 he was a contestant on the second series of Taskmaster and appeared on the darts show Let's Play Darts. Literary career Viking Press, a subsidiary of Penguin Random House, acquired the rights to Osman's debut novel, The Thursday Murder Club, and one other novel, for a seven-figure sum in a 10-publisher auction in 2019. It was said that his first book would be published in autumn 2020, and the second the following year, as part of a classic crime series. His debut crime novel's release date was announced as 3 September 2020.The Thursday Murder Club is set in a luxury retirement village in Kent where four residents gather to investigate crime cases, including a "live" murder mystery. Osman said that he was "in talks" for a TV adaptation of his novel. Osman confirmed that Steven Spielberg had acquired the book's film rights. The book has sold well over one million copies in the UK, and sold 45,000 UK hardback copies in the first three days after publication.Osman's second crime novel, The Man Who Died Twice, was published in 2021. Osman has stated that this series will contain four novels. Other work Osman presented The Birthday Game podcast. Since 2021 he has featured in podcast adverts for premium ready meal brand Charlie Bigham's. Personal life Osman was born with nystagmus, an eye condition that significantly reduces his vision. He learns his scripts by heart as his condition makes it difficult to read an autocue.Osman has two children, aged 17 and 19 years as of 2020.As of 2020, Osman resides in Chiswick, West London.Osman is a season ticket holder at Fulham F.C.On 6 December 2011, Osman became an "unlikely heartthrob" after winning Heat's "Weirdest Crush Award". Television work Production credits Presenting roles Non-presenting appearances Bibliography Osman, Richard; Armstrong, Alexander (2012). The 100 Most Pointless Things in the World. Coronet. ISBN 978-1-4447-6205-1. Osman, Richard; Armstrong, Alexander (2013). The 100 Most Pointless Arguments in the World. Coronet. ISBN 978-1-4447-6208-2. Osman, Richard; Armstrong, Alexander (2014). The Very Pointless Quiz Book. Coronet. ISBN 978-1-4447-8274-5. Osman, Richard; Armstrong, Alexander (2015). The A-Z of Pointless. Coronet. ISBN 978-1-4447-8277-6. Osman, Richard; Armstrong, Alexander (2016). A Pointless History of the World. Coronet. ISBN 978-1-4736-2324-8. Osman, Richard (2017). The World Cup Of Everything: Bringing the Fun Home. Coronet. ISBN 978-1-4736-6726-6. Os.... Discover the Richard Osman popular books. Find the top 100 most popular Richard Osman books.

Best Seller Richard Osman Books of December 2021

In a Cottage in a Wood book summary, reviews and downlod

In a Cottage in a Wood

4/5$3.99

Her dream home will become her worst nightmare…A dark and twisty psychological thriller from the No.1 ebook bestselling author of The Woman Next Door.A strange enco...

The Woman Next Door book summary, reviews and downlod

The Woman Next Door

4/5$2.99

Two suburban women. Two dark secrets. The almost perfect murder.Everybody needs good neighbours…Melissa and Hester have lived next door to each other for years. Whe...

No Good Deed book summary, reviews and downlod

No Good Deed

4/5$3.99

One stolen baby. Two desperate strangers. One night of terror.The USA Today and Sunday Times top ten bestselling author returns with a dark and twisty psychological thriller.

L'amica sbagliata book summary, reviews and downlod

L'amica sbagliata

0/5$10.99

Se decidi di confidare i tuoi segreti, assicurati di farlo con la persona giusta…Tutti, prima o poi, possono aver bisogno di un buon vicino di casa… Melissa ed Hester abitano...

The Killer Inside book summary, reviews and downlod

The Killer Inside

4/5$4.99

‘Dark, twisty and menacing, I couldn't put it down!’ Roz WatkinsYou love me. But do you really know me?The gripping new thriller from the Sunday Times bestseller

Best Seller Richard Osman Audio Books of December 2021

The Killer Inside MP3 Audiobook

The Killer Inside

Mysteries & Thrillers$16.99

’Dark, twisty and menacing, I couldn't put it down!’ Roz WatkinsYou love me. But do you really know me?The gripping new thriller from the Sunday Times bestseller

In a Cottage In a Wood MP3 Audiobook

In a Cottage In a Wood

Mysteries & Thrillers$19.99

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR IS BACK!Her dream home will become her worst nightmare…A strange encounterNeve comes across a troubled woman called Isabel...

No Good Deed MP3 Audiobook

No Good Deed

Mysteries & Thrillers$19.99

One stolen baby. Two desperate strangers. One night of terror.The USA Today and Sunday Times top ten bestselling author returns with a dark and twisty psychological thriller.

The Woman Next Door MP3 Audiobook

The Woman Next Door

Mysteries & Thrillers$19.99

A No.1 e-book bestseller, perfect for fans of Ruth Ware, Shari Lapena and Clare Mackintosh.Two suburban women. Two dark secrets. The almost perfect murder.Everybody n...

You were invited to try Coinbase!Coinbase is the world's most trusted place to buy and sell cryptocurrency. Open an account today, and if you buy or sell $100 or more of crypto, you'll receive $10 worth of free Bitcoin!