Sapiens

  • Release Date:     ISBN: 680533594819198260
  • Genre: Life Sciences     Publisher:
  • Print Length: pages     Language:
Score: 4.5 0 5
4.5
357 Ratings

Sapiens Book Summary

New York Times Bestseller

A Summer Reading Pick for President Barack Obama, Bill Gates, and Mark Zuckerberg

From a renowned historian comes a groundbreaking narrative of humanity’s creation and evolution—a #1 international bestseller—that explores the ways in which biology and history have defined us and enhanced our understanding of what it means to be “human.”

One hundred thousand years ago, at least six different species of humans inhabited Earth. Yet today there is only one—homo sapiens. What happened to the others? And what may happen to us?

Most books about the history of humanity pursue either a historical or a biological approach, but Dr. Yuval Noah Harari breaks the mold with this highly original book that begins about 70,000 years ago with the appearance of modern cognition. From examining the role evolving humans have played in the global ecosystem to charting the rise of empires, Sapiens integrates history and science to reconsider accepted narratives, connect past developments with contemporary concerns, and examine specific events within the context of larger ideas.

Dr. Harari also compels us to look ahead, because over the last few decades humans have begun to bend laws of natural selection that have governed life for the past four billion years. We are acquiring the ability to design not only the world around us, but also ourselves. Where is this leading us, and what do we want to become?

Featuring 27 photographs, 6 maps, and 25 illustrations/diagrams, this provocative and insightful work is sure to spark debate and is essential reading for aficionados of Jared Diamond, James Gleick, Matt Ridley, Robert Wright, and Sharon Moalem.



Do you love Sapiens book? Please share!

Sapiens Book Comments


Make Money Writing

Sapiens - Yuval Noah Harari Reviews

  • Amazing!

    By Lucas Ohara
    5
    It was a non stop reading! Congratulations to the concise and precise way of teaching world history.
  • Interesting and provocative book

    By mikey12384
    4
    Sapiens does a good job of retelling our past. The information on our history as hunter gatherers, the agricultural revolution and Industrial Age was interesting even though some of the authors conclusions might not be met with agreement. The approximations about the future of Homo sapiens is a tad unbelievable but intriguing nonetheless.
  • Sapiens

    By Quiverlotus Hissef
    5
    One cannot help but be impressed with the prodigious scholarship which went into this work. As readers we are not only inspired, we are actually uplifted by the consuming of the thoughts presented in "Sapiens".
  • This is a great book

    By spoilednomad
    5
    Scio quod nescio, if I remember the latin correctly (it's been a while since highschool, sorry), this simple statement, made a similar, lasting impression on me when I first read it like Sapiens by Harari just did. The intellectual step back, the deep breath, the wider picture implied here: That we don't know everything, in fact very little, and should often question the dogmas we are mistaking for knowledge. Humbling and refreshing at the same time. This is an author who "thinks with his own head", and how often, honestly, do we encounter this habit while reading? Sometimes. But not all that often. This is a great book.
  • Sapiens - a Review

    By Stop the Rats
    2
    This book begins as somewhat of a summary or rehashing of previously published books such as Jared Diamond's work. However, it does present creative new perspectives and original points. However, it runs out of gas about half way through and sort of fell apart.
  • Mind boggling with extremely scientific and historical facts

    By erickim59
    5
    This is the 'must' textbook of all intellectual minds has deep concerns of humanities in current & future of surroundings
  • Sapiens

    By Duvidov
    5
    To admit ignorance is the beginning of wisdom, so said the Rabbis of.old. In this hugely interesting and thoughtful book, that concept is given a fresh context very rewarding to those willing to consider the questions posed and the challenges uttered to conventional thinking. I am deeply grateful to have lived long enough to read this book.
  • Sapiens

    By Best Dad Ever :)
    4
    Thoroughly enjoyed the book. Mostly well researched and logical conclusions. Thought provoking and asks the reader good questions to consider. Given the scientific approach and logical nature of the book, I was surprised with the casual dismissal of God and Christianity in particular as myths. While in agreement with his contention of the sociological benefits of religion on society, his faith that there isn't a God is quite surprising given the fact that faith is why he calls religion a myth. He provides no prove that his faith in his own faculties are greater than the faith of others in God. You have to have enormous "faith" in your own cognitive ability to believe that. We should continue our scientific advancements and celebrate them. I believe God loves for us to maximize our potential. Ethical regulation will be required at points just as some regulation is required of capitalism. In both instances, less regulation is the side to err on. The book asks what we 'want'. In the end, I believe we are best served both in this world and next in by wanting to be closer to God. He made us in his image and we continue to 'approach' Him with our abilities. It's an exciting time we're in where the human condition, as Mr. Harari points out, is starting to improve across humanity. It's also great to see an increasing awareness of our need to improve our environment and animal rights. Thank you sir for a thought provoking book. Thanks Mr. Gates for recommending it. Brad Walker
  • Unconvincing

    By E430doug
    2
    One of the author"s early points about the idilic life of hunter gatherers versus agrarians is poorly argued. It's layer of subjective anecdotes layered on top of one another instead of a reasoned argument. This is disappointing. I was hoping for a book in the tradition of "Guns, Germs, and Steel". Better editing and tighter logic could have made this a better book. Too bad.
  • Wow!

    By Ytaimaishu
    5
    This is a book every member of the human race should read.

Yuval Noah Harari - Sapiens E-Book

Sapiens - Yuval Noah Harari E-Book coming soon..