Who is Tony Hillerman?

Tony Hillerman Popular Books

Tony Hillerman Biography & Facts

Anthony Grove Hillerman (May 27, 1925 – October 26, 2008) was an American author of detective novels and nonfiction works best known for his Navajo Tribal Police mystery novels. Several of his works have been adapted as theatrical and television movies. Biography Tony Hillerman was born in Sacred Heart, Oklahoma, to August Alfred Hillerman, a farmer and shopkeeper, and his wife, Lucy Grove. He was the youngest of their three children, and the second son. His paternal grandparents were born in Germany, and his maternal grandparents were born in England. He grew up in Pottawatomie County, Oklahoma, attending elementary and high school with Potawatomie children. Jeffrey Herlihy argues that this background made possible "a significantly different portrayal of Native Americans in his writing", in comparison to other authors of his time. "Growing up Indian," Hillerman said of his childhood, "you did not have an 'us and them.'"He was a decorated combat veteran of World War II, serving from August 1943 to October 1945. He served as a mortarman in the 103rd Infantry Division. He earned the Silver Star, the Bronze Star, and a Purple Heart. He attended the University of Oklahoma after the war, meeting Marie Unzner, a student in microbiology. The couple wed and have one biological child and five adopted children.From 1948 to 1962, he worked as a journalist, moving to Santa Fe, New Mexico, in 1952. In 1966, he moved his family to Albuquerque, where he earned a master's degree from the University of New Mexico. During his time as a writer for the Borger News-Herald in Borger, Texas, he became acquainted with the sheriff of Hutchinson County, the man upon whom he would pattern the main character in his Joe Leaphorn novels. He taught journalism from 1966 to 1987 at the University of New Mexico in Albuquerque, and also began writing novels. He lived there with his wife Marie until his death in 2008. At the time of his death, they had been married 60 years and had 10 grandchildren.A consistently bestselling author, he was ranked as New Mexico's 22nd-wealthiest man in 1996. He wrote 18 books in his Navajo series. He wrote more than 30 books total, among them a memoir and books about the Southwest, its beauty, and its history. His literary honors were awarded for his Navajo books. Hillerman's books have been translated into eight languages, among them Danish and Japanese.Hillerman's writing is noted for the cultural details he provides about his subjects: Hopi, Zuni, European-American, federal agents, and especially Navajo Tribal Police. His works in nonfiction and in fiction reflect his appreciation of the natural wonders of the American Southwest and his appreciation of its people, particularly the Navajo. His mystery novels are set in the Four Corners area of New Mexico and Arizona, sometimes reaching into Colorado and Utah, with occasional forays to the big cities of Washington, DC, Los Angeles, and New York City. The protagonists are Joe Leaphorn and Jim Chee of the Navajo tribal police. Lt. Leaphorn was introduced in Hillerman's first novel, The Blessing Way (1970). Sgt. Jim Chee was introduced in the fourth novel, People of Darkness. The two first work together in the seventh novel, Skinwalkers, considered his breakout novel, with a distinct increase in sales with the two police officers working together.Hillerman repeatedly acknowledged his debt to an earlier series of mystery novels written by British-born Australian author Arthur W. Upfield and set among tribal Australian Aborigines in remote desert regions of tropical and subtropical Australia. The Upfield novels were first published in 1928 and featured a half-European, half-aboriginal Australian hero, Detective-Inspector Napoleon (Bony) Bonaparte. Bony worked with deep understanding of tribal traditions. The character was based on the achievements of an aborigine known as Tracker Leon, whom Upfield had met during his years in the Australian bush.Hillerman discussed his debt to Upfield in many interviews and in his introduction to the posthumous 1984 reprint of Upfield's A Royal Abduction. In the introduction, he described the appeal of the descriptions in Upfield's crime novels. It was descriptions both of the harsh Outback areas and of "the people who somehow survived upon them" that lured him. "When my own Jim Chee of the Navajo Tribal Police unravels a mystery because he understands the ways of his people, when he reads the signs in the sandy bottom of a reservation arroyo, he is walking in the tracks Bony made 50 years ago."He also mentioned Eric Ambler, Graham Greene, and Raymond Chandler as authors who influenced him as he wrote the Leaphorn and Chee novels.Tony Hillerman died on October 26, 2008, of pulmonary failure in Albuquerque at the age of 83. Recognition beyond the US In an interview published in Le Monde, Hillerman said his Navajo name means "He who is afraid of his horse". His novels were popular in France. Hillerman credits that popularity both to French curiosity about other cultures and to his translator, Pierre Bondil. Legacy and honors Hillerman is considered one of New Mexico's foremost novelists. The Tony Hillerman Library was dedicated in Albuquerque in 2008, and the Tony Hillerman Middle School (part of Volcano Vista High School) opened in 2009. Dance Hall of the Dead, published in 1973, earned Hillerman the Grand Prix de Littérature Policière in 1987, a French international literary honor. Hillerman was awarded an Honorary Doctorate of Literature (Litt.D.) from the University of New Mexico in 1990. He was awarded the Owen Wister Award in 2008 for "Outstanding Contributions to the American West." Awards Hillerman was a decorated combat veteran of World War II; he earned the Silver Star, the Bronze Star, and a Purple Heart as a mortarman in the 103rd Infantry Division. He won and was nominated for numerous awards for his writing and his work with other writers. His first nomination came in 1972, with his novel The Fly on the Wall being nominated for an Edgar Award in the "Best Mystery Novel" category. Two years later his novel Dance Hall of the Dead, second book in the Leaphorn-Chee series, won the 1974 Edgar Award for Best Novel. He was again nominated for the "Best Mystery Novel" Edgar Award in 1979 for Listening Woman and lastly in 1989 for A Thief of Time. Hillerman's non-fictional work Talking Mysteries was nominated in 1992 for the Edgar Award in the "Best Critical or Biographical" category.In 1987, Hillerman received the Grand Prix de Littérature Policière for Dance Hall of the Dead. In 1991, Hillerman received the MWA's Grand Master Award. Hillerman received the Nero Award for Coyote Waits and the Navajo Tribe's Special Friends of the Dineh Award.Hillerman has also been successful at the annual Anthony Awards. His novel Skinwalkers won the 1988 Anthony Award for "Best Novel", and in the following year A Thief of Time was nominated for the 1989 Anthony Award in the same category. H.... Discover the Tony Hillerman popular books. Find the top 100 most popular Tony Hillerman books.

Best Seller Tony Hillerman Books of November 2021

Spider Woman's Daughter book summary, reviews and downlod

Spider Woman's Daughter

4.5/5$12.99

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERAnne Hillerman, the talented daughter of bestselling author Tony Hillerman, continues his popular Leaphorn and Chee series with a Navajo Country mys...

The Sacred Bridge book summary, reviews and downlod

The Sacred Bridge

0/5Pre-Order

“A fine legacy series . . .  in the spirit of her late father, Tony.”—Booklist An ancient mystery resurfaces with ramifications for the present day in this g...

Rock with Wings book summary, reviews and downlod

Rock with Wings

4.5/5$9.99

Amazon Best Mystery of 2015Navajo Tribal cops Jim Chee and Bernadette Manuelito, and their mentor, the legendary Lieutenant Joe Leaphorn, investigate two perplexing cases in this...

Tony Hillerman's Landscape book summary, reviews and downlod

Tony Hillerman's Landscape

4/5$16.99

“You’ve read the books, now see the land. . . . It’s like having Tony Hillerman still with us.” —Denver PostA photographic journey through the landscapes of belove...

Stargazer book summary, reviews and downlod

Stargazer

4.5/5$2.99

Murder, deception, Navajo tradition, and the stars collide in this enthralling entry in New York Times bestselling author Anne Hillerman’s Leaphorn, Chee & Manuelito series, set amid t...

The Tale Teller book summary, reviews and downlod

The Tale Teller

4.5/5$9.99

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERLegendary Navajo policeman Lieutenant Joe Leaphorn takes center stage in this riveting atmospheric mystery from New York Times bestselling author Anne Hi...

Gardens of Santa Fe book summary, reviews and downlod

Gardens of Santa Fe

0/5$14.99

Take a visual journey through the some of the most spectacular and luminous gardens of Santa Fe, which boasts an astonishing diversity of flora and fauna, from traditional succulents and dro...

Santa Fe Flavors book summary, reviews and downlod

Santa Fe Flavors

0/5$11.99

The New York Times bestselling author and restaurant critic takes readers on a foodie tour of Santa Fe—complete with recipes from more than 50 restaurants.  ...

Song of the Lion book summary, reviews and downlod

Song of the Lion

4.5/5$1.99

New York Times Bestseller“Fans of Leaphorn, Chee, and Manuelito, characters created by the author’s father, Tony Hillerman, will savor this multilayered story of suspense, wi...

Cave of Bones book summary, reviews and downlod

Cave of Bones

4/5$8.99

A New York Times BestsellerAnne Hillerman brings together modern mystery, Navajo traditions, and the evocative landscape of the desert Southwest in this intriguing entry in the L...

Best Seller Tony Hillerman Audio Books of November 2021

Stargazer MP3 Audiobook

Stargazer

Mysteries & Thrillers$7.99

Murder, deception, Navajo tradition, and the stars collide in this enthralling entry in New York Times bestselling author Anne Hillerman’s Leaphorn, Chee & Manuelito series, set amid t...

The Tale Teller MP3 Audiobook

The Tale Teller

Mysteries & Thrillers$19.99

Legendary Navajo policeman Lieutenant Joe Leaphorn takes center stage in this riveting atmospheric mystery from New York Times bestselling author Anne Hillerman that combines crime, supersti...

Cave of Bones MP3 Audiobook

Cave of Bones

Mysteries & Thrillers$19.99

New York Times bestselling author Anne Hillerman brings together modern mystery, Navajo traditions, and the evocative landscape of the desert Southwest in this intriguing entry in the Leapho...

Spider Woman's Daughter MP3 Audiobook

Spider Woman's Daughter

Mysteries & Thrillers$19.99

Legendary tribal sleuths Leaphorn and Chee are back!The supremely talented daughter of New York Times bestselling author Tony Hillerman continues his popular series with this fre...

Rock with Wings MP3 Audiobook

Rock with Wings

Mysteries & Thrillers$19.99

Amazon Best Mystery of 2015Navajo Tribal cops Jim Chee and Bernadette Manuelito, and their mentor, the legendary Lieutenant Joe Leaphorn, investigate two perplexing cases in this...

Song of the Lion MP3 Audiobook

Song of the Lion

Mysteries & Thrillers$19.99

A deadly bombing takes Navajo Tribal cops Bernadette Manuelito, Jim Chee, and their mentor, the legendary Lieutenant Joe Leaphorn, back into the past to find a vengeful killer in this riveti...

You were invited to try Coinbase!Coinbase is the world's most trusted place to buy and sell cryptocurrency. Open an account today, and if you buy or sell $100 or more of crypto, you'll receive $10 worth of free Bitcoin!