The Widow

  • Release Date:     ISBN:
  • Genre: Mysteries & Thrillers
  • Publisher:
  • Print Length: pages     Language:
Score: 4 0 5
4
1,065 Ratings

The Widow Book Summary


THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

An NPR Best Book of 2016
One of The Wall Street Journal’s 5 “Killer Books” of the Year
A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year

For fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, an electrifying thriller that will take you into the dark spaces that exist between a husband and a wife.


When the police started asking questions, Jean Taylor turned into a different woman. One who enabled her and her husband to carry on, when more bad things began to happen...
 
But that woman’s husband died last week. And Jean doesn’t have to be her anymore.
 
There’s a lot Jean hasn’t said over the years about the crime her husband was suspected of committing. She was too busy being the perfect wife, standing by her man while living with the accusing glares and the anonymous harassment.
 
Now there’s no reason to stay quiet. There are people who want to hear her story. They want to know what it was like living with that man. She can tell them that there were secrets. There always are in a marriage.
 
The truth—that’s all anyone wants. But the one lesson Jean has learned in the last few years is that she can make people believe anything…



Do you love The Widow book? Please share!

The Widow Comments


Blogger Jobs

The Widow - Fiona Barton Reviews

  • The Widow

    By Bamma342
    5
    Totally excellent book!
  • Uninteresting

    By Terikosan
    2
    This story lacks a lot. No suspense or even any very interesting characters. Predictable and non eventful!
  • I was disappointed

    By Nor779
    2
    This book was described to be on par with "The Girl On The Train" and "Gone Girl". It was supposed to be suspenseful and riveting but yet I found myself bored and only reading further to see if the end was any better. To me the end fell flat. I think of suspense as hanging off the edge of my seat wanting to know what's next but halfway through the book you already could tell who did it and your prediction was correct. I also thought there were way too many characters at play here. We have the widow. We have the detective. We have Glen. We have the reporter. We have the mother. Part of a good suspense novel is not knowing what is happening next or what someone is thinking and in this book you know everything. How does that make it a suspense? I did like how the timeline started from the end then skipped back to the beginning and kind of converged into the present. I thought that was really thought out and made a lot of sense. I did also think the author did a great job portraying what people go through when on trial. Reporters, police, friends. It was very accurate. But overall, this was not the book for me and I haven't been this disappointed by a book which such high praise in a while.
  • Boring and slow

    By Holli1215
    2
    Not sure how this book got such great reviews. I was drawn into the story but found it slow, boring and only finished it because I wanted to know the end. Let down
  • Thriller

    By K. Hutton
    5
    Great book! Loved it ❤
  • Enjoyable

    By Pizza eater 47
    4
    Maybe not the right title for a grim story but it was worth the read. Well done.
  • A thrilling unputdownable read

    By Ihabmarz
    5
    The story was captivating from beginning to end, and it was smartly written because the suspense gets more intense from one page to another. As you leaf through the pages, you get ambushed by certain twists only when you least expect - which one of the things that mostly interest in psychological thrillers.
  • The Widow

    By Artymusician
    5
    This is an excellent book that made me realize that there are many victims in a tragedy. I had never given much thought to the wives of child rapists and killers. Psychopaths can always blame others for their evil, and seem to select gullible and vulnerable partners, easily controlled and manipulated. This book humanized an otherwise seemingly repulsive and complicit widow. It made me feel tremendous sadness for her, and gave me a new perspective on unspeakable acts of evil. Great writing.
  • The Widow

    By AG Muffins
    5
    excellent read!!
  • Sad but intriguing

    By Debsopinion
    5
    Although this is a very sad subject, I couldn't stop reading. This kept me interested all of the way to the end. I highly recommend this book.

Fiona Barton - The Widow E-Book

The Widow - Fiona Barton E-Book coming soon..